Several School Contracts and Adjustments Approved

Newell News

NEWELL-Contract adjustment were approved for the School Year 2023-2024 for Amy Engel, an increase of $8,000; Steve Schoenfish, as Title 1 Coordinator, an increase of $5,000; and Cara Muckridge as 501 Coordinator, an increase of $2,500. During a Special School Board meeting teachers’ contracts for 2024-2025 were issued with a rate increase that brings contracts closer to the South Dakota average.

A contract was issued to Amy Williams as 2024-2025 Business Manager for $65,000. She will also receive $280 per day for May through June 2024.

The Title 1 budget was amended to include the purchase of iPads up to $10,000; Smartboards up to $7,500 and use up to $10,000 for Elementary Library books.

Dr. Pandi Pittman began her duties April 15. Her contract was approved for the remainder of the school year (April 15, 2024 through June 30, 2024) in the amount of $12,000.

Exit interviews will now be given to any staff who requests one. In the past exit interviews have been done occasionally and not consistently.

The board members decided to allow Meade County School District personnel who are aiding the school business office online bank access. Following discussion, a caveat was added that the access will be through the conclusion of their contract.

The top two recipients of the School Board election held April 9 will serve a three-year term, while the third vote recipient will serve a one-year term. Uncanvassed votes revealed that Kristin Bonefield and Amber Erk will serve three-year terms and Tyrel Bonnet will serve the one-year term.

Interim Superintendent Don Kirkegaard informed the board and members of the public that it may not be necessary to consider an Opt-Out for future finances. Money can be moved from Capital Outlay to the General Fund in certain circumstances, he pointed out. He believes that the school should be financially sound for at least another year or two, depending on expenses and a hopeful increase in students.

The next school board meeting will be May 13, at 6 p.m.