Two New Hires

Newell News News

NEWELL-The Newell School Board approved the hire of two more teachers for the 2024/2025 school year. Kimberly Bachman was hired as Band and Choir teacher at $47,400 a year. Jesse Engels will begin as the Third-Grade teacher at $45,000 as a first-year teacher.

Resignations were accepted from Dawn Queen and Dalena Craig. The school board is still searching for a High School English teacher and a Science teacher.

Maintenance workers have been cleaning classrooms and preparing for the new school year. Volunteers having been helping with the workload on Wednesday evenings by painting and cleaning. Board member Sara Brunner asked for additional handicap parking added. Superintendent Dr. Pittman said she would “see what she could do.”

Cara Muckridge, Technology Coordinator, explained that a new process had been set up to handle work details that need done. A Work Ticket needs to be done to facilitate attention to any issues that maintenance needs to address.

Several items were declared surplus including old uniforms and pomp oms. The items are free and will be displayed until the regular July meeting. The school dump truck was also declared surplus and will be passed onto the Belle Fourche Irrigation District.

There was a lengthy discussion surrounding LiveTicket cost and use. The equipment for LiveTicket will cost $5,850. A tech person, ideally someone from the school, will handle the videoing of events at the school-from sports to concerts and school board meetings. The company will set up the equipment and offer support. The school will gain a percentage of advertising with the money handled through the Newell Irrigator Booster Club. It will be free to watch the event and uploaded to YouTube.

A first reading of the District Handbook was done.

Superintendent Pittman offered congratulations to several students for outstanding athletics. In High School Rodeo Kiana Miller, Kendra Johnson, and Kimberly Johnson; State Track participants Sarah Erk, Rachel Erk, and Clint Walker; State Golf Megan Jackson, Brylee Freitag, and Brodie VanDerBoom.

The final meeting of the fiscal year was set for June 28 at 6 p.m.